Finance

Grupo Elektra Announces Advance Payment of Debt for US$230 Million

—Through this payment, the company completely amortizes its US dollar-denominated bonds— —Payment reflects solid financial results and further strengthens the capital structure of the company— MEXICO CITY, Jan. 19, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) —  Grupo Elektra, S.A.B. de C.V. (BMV:ELEKTRA*); (Latibex:XEKT), Latin America’s leading specialty retailer and financial services company and the largest non-bank provider of cash advance services in the United States, announced today that on February 20, it will pay in advance US$230 million of its US$550 million senior notes, with a coupon of 7.25% and due in 2018. The amount will be paid to bondholders in proportion of their holdings at a call price of 101.8125%.  Through this payment, the company completely redeems its US$550 million senior notes. To make the advance payment, the company issued Certificados Bursátiles Fiduciarios for Ps.2,500 million last December, and will use cash generated by the company. The transaction is carried out within the framework of positive financial results and dynamic operations, and reflects the strategy of the company to further strengthen its strong capital structure. Company Profile: Grupo Elektra is Latin America’s leading financial services company and specialty retailer and the largest non-bank provider of cash advance services in the United States.  The Group operates more than 7,000 points of contact in Mexico, the United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Peru, Panama and El Salvador. Grupo Elektra is a Grupo Salinas company (www.gruposalinas.com), a group of dynamic, fast-growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, contributing to build the middle class of the countries in which they operate and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. The companies include TV Azteca (www.tvazteca.com; www.irtvazteca.com), Azteca US (us.azteca.com), Grupo Elektra (www.elektra.com.mx: www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx), Totalplay (www.totalplay.com.mx) and Enlace TP (enlacetp.mx). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings. However, the member companies share a common vision, values and strategies for achieving rapid growth, superior results and world-class performance. Except for historical information, the matters discussed in this press release are forward-looking statements and are subject to certain risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected.  Other risks that may affect Grupo Elektra and its subsidiaries are identified in documents sent to securities authorities.Investor Relations:
Bruno Rangel
Grupo Salinas
Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167
jrangelk@gruposalinas.com.mx
Rolando Villarreal
Grupo Elektra S.A.B. de C.V.
Tel. +52 (55) 1720-9167
rvillarreal@gruposalinas.com.mx
Press Relations
Luciano Pascoe
Grupo Salinas
Tel. +52 (55) 1720-1313 ext. 36553
lpascoe@gruposalinas.com.mx
Daniel McCosh
Grupo Salinas
Tel. +52 (55) 1720-0059
dmccosh@gruposalinas.com.mx

Most Popular

To Top