The Advanced Imaging Society and The VR Society Announce 2017 Honorees

HOLLYWOOD, Calif.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The Advanced Imaging Society and The VR Society will continue to
influence the 2017 awards season when it presents the 8th Annual
Lumiere™ Awards this year honoring creative work in movies, TV and
expanded Virtual Reality categories at Warner Bros. Studios, February
13, 2017, in Hollywood. The black-tie gathering will begin at 6:30PM
with a sit down dinner, followed by the awards ceremony at the Steven J.
Ross Theater.

Director, writer and producer Jon Favreau, director of Disney’s
blockbuster “The Jungle Book” movie and creator of the “Gnomes &
Goblins” VR experience with Wevr and Reality One, will be presented with
the Society’s 2017 Harold Lloyd Award for Filmmaking. Favreau directed
Marvel’s “Iron Man” and “Iron Man 2” movies, and he also directed
“Chef,” “Cowboys and Aliens” and “Elf.” His films have grossed over 2.5
billion dollars at the worldwide box office. Previous honorees have
included Martin Scorsese, Ang Lee, Jean-Pierre Juenet, Victoria Alonso
and Jeffrey Katzenberg.

“Harold Lloyd was a passionate advocate for using new technology to
thrill audiences,” said Suzanne Lloyd, Chairman of Harold Lloyd
Entertainment. “He would be delighted that we are honoring Jon for
exciting so many movie and VR fans worldwide,” Lloyd added.

The Society annually recognizes “Distinguished Creative Achievement” for
the use of advanced imaging technologies including 3D, HDR and VR.
Awards will be presented for distinguished achievement in storytelling
for 3D and HDR Live Action and Animated Movie categories, among others.
The Virtual Reality categories have expanded this year to include Best
VR Experience, Best VR Film Experience, Best VR Animation & CGI, Best
Episodic Content (360-degree), Best Live Action (360-degree), Best VR
Documentary, Best VR Journalism, Best VR Sports, Best VR Music, Best VR
Advertising/Branded Content, and Best VR Gaming. The Awards Ceremony and
dinner is presented by AMD. A complete list of nominees can be seen here:


Also new this year is an opportunity for the media to visit curated and
award-nominated VR content in all categories. The Advanced Imaging
Society and The VR Society will offer a VIP media preview from 10AM-12PM
on February 13 at the Steven J. Ross Theater at Warner Bros.

Cher Wang, Chairwoman and CEO of HTC Corp., creator of the HTC VIVE
virtual reality system, will be presented with the organization’s Sir
Charles Wheatstone Award. Society Awards Chair Buzz Hays stated, “With
the HTC VIVE, Cher Wang and her team have created a groundbreaking
room-scale VR platform that has enabled the production of a dazzling
number of immersive VR experiences which have pushed the boundaries of
entertainment. The result has surprised and delighted the industry and
consumers,” Hays added. Previous Wheatstone winners include John
Lasseter and Pixar, Sky TV, The BBC, and Sir David Attenborough.

The Society’s Century Award will be presented to Google Earth VR. This
application allows you to travel the world, fly over cities, stand at
the highest mountain peaks, and even soar upwards into space using the
HTC VIVE. “The Google VR Experience empowers every citizen of the world
to explore and learn about our world with VR,” said Society President
Jim Chabin. “This achievement will enrich countless lives and expand our
understanding of our planet in the coming years, and we are thrilled to
honor Google’s virtual reality team,” Chabin added. The Century Award is
presented rarely and is reserved for people and achievements the Society
deems to have “created a milestone” technology or piece of content.
Director James Cameron was previously honored with the Century Award for

In addition to the honorees, confirmed special guests to attend include
Doug Liman and Ivan Reitman.

The Society’s Gold Lumiere™ statuettes are made by the R.S. Owens
Company of Chicago, who also manufactures the Oscars for the Academy
Awards. They depict the Roman Goddess of Dawn, “Aurora.”

About The Advanced Imaging Society and The VR Society

The Advanced Imaging Society and The VR Society were founded as a
non-profit organization by major Hollywood studios and top technology
companies to advance the arts and technologies of 3D, HDR, VR, AR and
360-degree content for professionals active in entertainment, media and
marketing. Members include AMD, Barco, Canon Street, Cause Play/360 Ad
Sports, Cosgrove Media, Create Advertising Group, Deluxe Entertainment,
Discovery Communications, Dolby Laboratories, DreamWorks Animation, DTS,
Facebook (Oculus), Fathom Events, Fraunhofer, HTC Vive, Intel, KDX,
Ketchum, Koncept VR, Legend, LIFE VR, LOOT Interactive, Lucid Dreams
Productions, Marvel Studios, Nokia Technologies, Pixar, Prime Focus
World, Sony Entertainment, Sony Music, Starbreeze Studios, Stereo D,
StoryTech, StreamTV, Technicolor, 3doo, True Image Company, Universal
Pictures, V-Nova, Verve, Virtual Reality Company, Walt Disney Studios
Motion Pictures, and Warner Bros.

In addition, The Advanced Imaging Society and The VR Society have
international chapters in the U.K., Belgium, China (Beijing and Hong
Kong), Japan, New Zealand, and Canada.

For more information please visit:


Most Popular

To Top